Key Terms

School isn’t stressful enough without having bronchitis during the last three weeks of class.

As our projects begin to finally come together and we’re starting to see some progress, it’s important for us to answer some questions that we’ve had to formulate in order to justify this project.
I think this was harder for me because I was working backwards- I can only go to Chicago so often from New Hampshire during a school semester. I took pictures of all the buildings that especially stuck out to me and made notes about some of the public spaces which could help me work on this project, but I was never asking myself why when I snapped the many pictures clogging up my camera roll.

During class on Tuesday we were working on fine-tuning the key-terms associated with our projects and were asked to come up with questions that are relative to the terms in order to help people understand these projects.
So with that, I will link you to the first post – my project proposal on ARTchitecture.

Key Terms:
1. expansion
2. expression
3. collectivity
4. diversity

I kept coming back to these terms, using them as pillars in my project to highlight that urban planning is supposed to be about utilizing the space so that it may benefit the largest number of people – and it requires the help of many people in order to even become a project. Life is collaborative, life is democratic in the observational sense.

How does expansion provide room for democracy?
How is collectivity a pillar in urban development when each building or space is done individually?
In Chicago, does the diversity of the city reflect the diversity of the people inside?

Author: internetrachael

Rachael is a junior at Keene State College with a major in Management and a minor in American Studies. She's the president of a co-ed social fraternity on campus, and when she isn't working or at school she enjoys sewing and sculpting. Her blog is based off of an experimental teaching style: open pedagogy.

Leave a Reply

